Symposium: Sustainable Island Futures 2020

The SISSTEM, University of Aruba (http://www.ua.aw/sisstem/) & the Metabolism of Islands (MoI) (https://metabolismofislands.org/) are co-hosting a virtual symposium on December 3, 2020, titled "Sustainable Island Futures 2020". This multidisciplinary symposium aims to bring together researchers to exchange ideas and approaches for a sustainability transformation in small island states and to foster interdisciplinary and interinstitutional collaboration. For more information, contact: Eric Mijts <eric.mijts@ua.aw>


Thursday December 3, 2020.
5:00 - 9:00 PST | 8:00 - 12:00 EST | 9:00 - 13:00 AST | 13:00 - 17:00 UTC | 14:00 - 18:00 CEST


Small island states are characterized by a strong dependency on external resources to meet their basic needs which highly contributes to vulnerability of these territories. The approaches to increase resource security and self-reliance in small island states need to be carefully redesigned considering context-specific challenges and opportunities. At the same time, in order to achieve sustainability and build system resilience, wholistic approaches need to be favored over narrow agendas. Several research collaborations are ongoing to address these challenges, such as the Sustainable Island Solutions through Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (SISSTEM) program at the University of Aruba and the Metabolism of Islands (MoI) research program. These bring together researchers from a dozen universities that are concerned about sustainable futures for small islands throughout the world. This multidisciplinary symposium aims to bring together researchers to exchange ideas and approaches for a sustainability transformation in small island states and to foster interdisciplinary and interinstitutional collaboration.


We invite PhD-candidates and graduate students to submit proposals for this online event. Proposals can center on research design, contextualization of methodologies, theoretical frameworks or research outcomes on resource circularity, island metabolism, islandness or on threats and opportunities that hinder or further sustainable development and resilience of small island states.


Call for Abstracts issued: October 1, 2020
Abstract submission deadline: October 21, 2020
Confirmation of acceptance: November 10, 2020
Symposium date: December 3, 2020


The acceptable length of an abstract is maximum 250 words, excluding title and author's details. Each presentation will be 20 minutes, followed by a 10 minute period for questions and discussion. Attendance to the symposium will be free and is limited to participants with academic or institutional affiliations related to small island studies.


Organizing Committee: Simron Singh, Eric Mijts, Nigel John